Snapshots: Reading The One Hundred, by Nina Garcia

One of my conundrums with this blog has been deciding how to include personal elements and photos without making it into something that should probably just be put on Tumblr. As a little outlet for all those personal and slightly random thoughts that I find myself wanting to blog about, I’ve decided to write these weekly ‘snapshots’ – glimpses into whatever is going on in my life in the form of photos and a few words. I hope you enjoy!

The One Hundred, Nina Garcia - book cover

I discovered this book recently after reading this interview with Nina Garcia over at Garance Doré’s site. I’m still on an earnest hunt to figure out exactly how I want to dress, and an important factor in that search is deciding what staple pieces I want to invest in that will stick with me through fads and coming and going trends. This book sounded like it would have some helpful advice along these lines (‘A guide to the pieces every stylish woman must own’ is the subtitle), and since I have often found myself envying Nina Garcia’s ability to look so stylish and put together in such a non-fussy way, my curiosity was piqued.

Nina Garcia, The One Hundred, Little Black Dress

Nina describes this book as “really about editing a wardrobe, or editing the pieces that we all love and are obsessed with. And maybe there is a season where you will stop wearing them, but they will come back.”

Nina Garcia, The One Hundred, Luggage, Illustration

The whimsical, classic illustration by Ruben Toledo give the book a really playful feel – it doesn’t take itself too seriously.

Nina Garcia, The One Hundred, Evening Gowns, Illustration

While the book shows its six-year-old age a little bit (it lists a BlackBerry as an accessory every fashionable women should have!) it largely seems to have aged gracefully – which is it’s whole goal. I’ll definitely be using this book to help me formulate my quarter-life-crisis fashion shopping wish list.

Nina Garcia, The One Hundred, French sailor top, illustration

If you’re interested in reading up on the art of wardrobe editing, I also highly recommend this post by my amigo Morgan over at The Otter Dance. While you’re there, make sure you take a look at her weekly personal style posts!

2 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing. Sounds like the book is filled with great advice. Plus the illustrations are charming.

  2. Thanks for the shout out! I love Nina and Ruben! I should definitely check this book out. =)

Leave a Reply

