Read this week

Dear readers, it’s been a long time! Since August I’ve managed to move house and actually get settled in, which has been brilliant, but exhausting. I’m glad to see life slowing down a tad though, and I look forward to getting back into the stride of blogging.

While I haven’t been writing much over the last few weeks, I have, however, been reading. Here are some of my favourite reads lately:

You Don’t Have To Make Your Bed to Write a Book – Storyline Blog

This blog post is one of the reasons I’m sitting down writing now instead of tidying up the pile of plates in my kitchen. While I subscribe to the idea that sometimes the environment around you can add un-needed ‘psychic weight’ that can distract you when you’re trying to work, I also know that cleaning up that environment is all-too-often my excuse for not doing more important things, like writing.

A Kingdom Still Whole, but Far From United – New York Times

The Scottish independence referendum was big news here in the UK a few weeks ago. Even though the fervour has died down somewhat, there are still many questions remaining as to exactly what the referendum meant for future Scottish autonomy and – interestingly – English autonomy and self-rule.

The Real Heroes are Dead – The New Yorker

This was something I read on the 13th anniversary of the 9/11 bombings, but it was written in 2002. The subtitle to this piece is ‘A Love Story’, and that’s exactly what it is. It’s a sad, but triumphant look at the life of a man who gained the media spotlight for being in the second tower, but which celebrates the way that his life lead up to that moment.

Missing Children – World Magazine

This is an incredibly helpful, and poignant look at the reality of miscarriage and infertility. Our church culture that celebrates children, parenthood and families often leaves couples who are struggling to have children by the wayside, and can unintentionally further marginalise them in their pain. As a Christian, I want to see the value we place on human life carried through to the way we walk with families who are missing children.

Leave a Reply

