Veg Boxes Make Me an Adult

Our Veg Box

One of the themes of the last few years of my life has been figuring out what in the world it means to be an adult. And this growing up process is felt keenly in the area of food.

I love food, and I’ve learned to love cooking because I love to eat. I grew up in a home with great food made by both my parents (though everything made by my dad seemed to require the word ‘surprise’ at the end in order to make sense). As a certified ‘grown-up’, however, I sometimes feel like I’ve been thrown in the deep end when I realise that I am now 100% responsible for the food that goes into my body. And if there aren’t enough vegetables involved – well, there’s only one place to point the finger.

In our efforts to Eat More Vegetables and Act Like Adults, my husband and I decided last year to start getting a veg box. These are fairly common here in the UK. Various companies will deliver a selection of produce (sometimes meat and dairy too) from local farms to your door on a regular basis. There are a couple big companies that offer this service in the UK, but in my research I stumbled across the recommendation to look for a local company that would support local farms, which I thought was a great idea. This is when I found Bristol Veg Boxes.

We get deliveries of their small boxes every other week, with the option to add extras (like specific vegetables, free range eggs) or exclude things we don’t like. So far celery has been the only thing we’ve excluded, but we might add fennel to that list because it confuses me. We love the service, which has been reliable, excellent value for money, and has produced great vegetables! The best part about getting a box of random vegetables delivered to our door each week, though, is that it forces us to be creative. Without our veg box we wouldn’t have discovered some of our now-favourite foods: beetroot, kale, turnip, and leeks.

I realise there’s a lot more to healthy eating than just having vegetables – and that the way you prepare them makes a lot of difference (e.g. making zucchini bread all the time doesn’t exactly count), but getting more involved in my diet is a start.

So here’s to being adults, vegetable eaters, and at least taking a baby step toward being responsible with our health.

 

Leave a Reply

